Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-14-2015, 05:01 AM   #1
Joakim-new

k5 fps

Hi, I'm new to dslr and just bought a used k5. I'm reading the manual with the camera in my hand trying off the different settings. When shooting continuously in lo or hi I get only one picture/sec. This is tested with and without lens in Av, Tv, and P settings with plenty of light, no flash needed.

Is there a setting limiting fps or is there something wrong with my camera.

Kind regards

Joakim

01-14-2015, 05:21 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A setting that might be slowing down the frame rate is #16 in the C (custom) menu, AF.C Setting. If it is set to Focus Priority, which is probably the default, the shutter will only fire when the subject is in focus.
01-14-2015, 07:32 AM   #3
Joakim-new

Thank you baro-nite, but it did not help.
01-14-2015, 07:49 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A slow memory card maybe?

01-14-2015, 07:57 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Joakim-new Quote
. This is tested with and without lens in Av, Tv, and P settings with plenty of light, no flash needed.
Test it in M mode and put the camera into manual focus. Set the drive mode to Hi Continuous. Set the shutter speed to 1/125, ISO 100 and f/5.6 -- it doesn't matter if the pictures look good. Just rule out a basic setting error.

Make sure you have a quality memory card that can handle that type of input. I always buy Sandisk's fastest cards that are somewhere around 45Mb/s.
01-14-2015, 07:59 AM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

There are a couple of things to try:
Make sure continuous shooting is set to Hi, not Lo by using the 4 way button and once you select Continuous choose the correct option by pressing the down key.
Use a shutter speed fast enough to allow high FPS such as 1/100 or faster.
Switch focus mode to manual to take out any focusing delay impact.