Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 10 Likes Search this Thread
02-18-2015, 05:14 AM   #1
timbuk2

The best dslr(new or used) for a beginner

Hi, I am new to photography so would like to buy either a good used dslr or something new - what would be best for a novice that also has enough features to carry me through to being an intermediate.
Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

02-18-2015, 07:03 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-50
Discounted prices, great features, scene mode to help you learn more about photographic choices (if you review the detailed exifs afterwords) with fully manual modes available. KS1/kS2 will also work great, they offer additional resolution (20MP vs. 16) and cost more due to relative newness. There are some features where the k50 still exceeds the ks1/2 frames per second and buffer size I think are an example for both, weather sealing is missing on the kS1 but present on the ks2.
02-18-2015, 07:18 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Pentax K-5 is a great camera as well. You can pick them up for almost nothing these days and has enough features to carry you over, in time, towards the "pro" level.
02-18-2015, 07:23 AM   #4

Today's cameras have plenty of features, sometimes even too many. The important thing is not "which" camera, but rather "how" you use it. The best way to learn is to force yourself to use it in manual mode. This is the way everybody learned for decades and decades, the advantage of digital is that you can check the result very quickly!
I would go for a solid and reliable used k10 or k20. You can find for around 100$ here in the marketplace still perfectly working.

02-18-2015, 07:32 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by UncleVanya Quote
K-50