Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-14-2015, 07:06 AM   #1
Type3

K-x Power Problem?

Hi there.

I've been using a K-x for the last 4 years, recently it's developed this fault. After turning on the camera the LCD screen will start flickering whilst it's set up in image taking mode. The problem is often worse when in playback mode for viewing images, the image will either display off centre with parts missing, or with the left hand side of the image displaying on the right with the right hand side of the image on the left. The screen will then usually go either black and unresponsive, or display vertical coloured lines, or dark green with light coloured lines. After a few seconds all goes black and no amount of button pushing changes this. Even switching the off button does not turn the camera off straight away, it will often take 10-20 seconds before the blue power light goes out. I would assume it's either a battery, connection or power supply problem? It has been used with Energizer AA mAh batteries, either 2450 or 2000 mAh. They are charged with an 'instant' 1 hour charger, not the best option I know but the camera has been good for 200-350 images per charge with this battery/charger combination for these past years and has been fault free. The charger itself is also only a few months old. I use two sets of these batteries, one set is only a few weeks old so I'd discounted it being a low battery problem. All battery sets were of course charged. The metal battery connections seem clean as the camera has not been used in extreme conditions.

I was thinking of trying eneloops, plus a new slower charge charger, as I believe this is what it would run on best? But there seems little point in paying out for these if it's a different issue, as any replacement camera will be unlikely to use AAs.

Any thoughts? Thanks!

07-14-2015, 07:09 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums