Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-21-2015, 12:18 PM   #1
ebonicity

dark pictures on my brand new k-50

First off, let me say that I'm very new to DSLR cameras, so technical language will only lose me. Next, I just bought a brand new K-50 and all of them are coming out very dark. I've reset the settings, played with things, and still dark images. Please help, so that I don't take my camera back without properly having set it up. Thanks!

07-21-2015, 12:31 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ebonicity Quote
First off, let me say that I'm very new to DSLR cameras, so technical language will only lose me. Next, I just bought a brand new K-50 and all of them are coming out very dark. I've reset the settings, played with things, and still dark images. Please help, so that I don't take my camera back without properly having set it up. Thanks!
Check to see if the camera is in spot metering mode, and if so, change it to matrix metering (this can be done via the first tab of the main menu as well as the control panel shown when pressing the INFO button).

Also, make sure that no exposure compensation is dialed in.

If that doesn't help, please post some pictures (attach them straight out of camera) so that we can take a look.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
07-21-2015, 12:32 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by keithlester Quote
RTFM, troll
that's not very helpful