Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-30-2015, 08:31 PM   #1
she

DSLR virus

recently i use a SD card infected by a virus in my Nikon 3100 DSLR,but the virus was already remove. when i plug it on my laptop my DSLR is not readable on my computer. but when i get the SD card all files are there when i plug it on the SD port. is it possible that my DSLR is affected by a virus? Nikon software is already installed on my laptop. its been a year of using my DSLR and this is the first time happened..And its my first time to insert a infected SD card on my camer. Help me please...

08-30-2015, 09:17 PM   #2
mee
Veteran Member

Well a DSLR is essentially a specialized computer.. or at least has one on board to handle processing. However, virii are generally designed to target specific operating systems. With this in mind, I think it unlikely someone has specifically targeted your D3100.

Your post, however, is a little confusing for me to understand. Are you saying your camera, when plugged into your PC via USB cable is not recognized by the PC? Yet your SD card, when plugged directly into your PC, is readable with photos visible?

By the way, you have posted your question on a forum catering to Pentax cameras and not Nikon. You may find it beneficial to ask on a Nikon forum.
08-30-2015, 09:23 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by mee Quote
Well a DSLR is essentially a specialized computer.. or at least has one on board to handle processing. However, virii are generally designed to target specific operating systems. With this in mind, I think it unlikely someone has specifically targeted your D3100.

Your post, however, is a little confusing for me to understand. Are you saying your camera, when plugged into your PC via USB cable is not recognized by the PC? Yet your SD card, when plugged directly into your PC, is readable with photos visible?