Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-20-2016, 08:12 PM   #1
dinkydo

what works best

I am pretty new to actual photo taking but have been interested in exploring for awhile.I was given a bag full of lenses and a Pentax LXR 35mm film camera. I want to get a DSLR that I can use with the old lenses and have no idea where to start. I want to get the most range out of the lenses as possible but do have a smaller budget. Can anyone point me in the right direction.

03-20-2016, 08:15 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
All Pentax DSLRs will work with the full lineup of current and legacy K-mount lenses.

I'd recommend the K-S2 if you'd like a good balance of performance and value. The K-S2 has a great live view mode for precise manual focusing, when needed

Pentax K-S2 Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

03-21-2016, 05:11 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hey, welcome!

QuoteOriginally posted by First Poster Quote
I want to get a DSLR that I can use with the old lenses and have no idea where to start.
K-50, K-S2, or if you want something a little more "out there", K-S1. The K-50 is a very traditional DSLR, but I don't know how available it still is in stores. The K-S1 has a little fewer features, but is still good. It looks really different, though. K-S2 is not as stylish as K-S1, but it doesn't look as traditional as K-50. Still, any of these are good to start with, just find one that fits in your hands well and you like how it looks.