Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2016, 11:11 AM   #1
Miyo S.

Pentax Q-S1 with Fotodiox mount dapter and Pentax 18-55 lens

Hi, I'm a beginner in digital photography.
I have a Pentax Q-S1 that I love and use all the time but I wanted a better lens so I can take better pictures with more zoom. (sorry if im not using the right terms) So I bought the Fotodiox mount adapter so I can use more wider range of lenses. My friend let me borrow his Pentax 18-55 lens so I tried it on. The blurriness was awful and it wouldn't let me auto-focus even tho the lens had an auto-focus feature, according to my friend. Even if I managed to focus manually, when I took the photo it got all blurry. We looked at all the settings on the Pentax Q-S1 camera but couldn't fix the problem. Is there a setting so that I can use the Pentax 18-55 lens or any kind of other lenses well on my Q-s1? Or did I just buy a bad mount adapter...

Sorry if my description wasn't very clear. If there is anyone who has a Pentax Q series who have tried anything similar, please comment how yours worked out! it would be a REALLY big help. Thank you!

05-29-2016, 11:31 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Try an adapter like this: Pentax Adapter Q for K-mount Lenses 39977 B&H Photo Video#!
05-29-2016, 11:37 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The Q can't autofocus with K mount lenses, and due to the extreme crop factor most lenses don't stand up optically. Sorry :/
05-29-2016, 11:38 AM   #4
Pentaxian

I take it you are shooting hand held. I would try putting the camera on a hard surface or on the tripod and see if that fixes the issue.

05-29-2016, 12:21 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter

Only Pentax Q type lenses autofocus on any of the Q models. The 06 telephoto may be what you are looking for.
05-29-2016, 02:07 PM   #6
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by Miyo S. Quote
Hi, I'm a beginner in digital photography.