Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-31-2016, 09:28 PM   #1
Dianne33

Pentax K 30

I have a macro zoom lens SMC 1:3.5 to 4.5 70 mm fitted to my camera A pentax K30 and I am trying to take photos, but getting a flashing F in the screen when trying to take the photos, somebody know why this is happening and how to fix the problem. I am new to photography and tthis camera.

08-31-2016, 09:53 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Dianne33 Quote
I have a macro zoom lens SMC 1:3.5 to 4.5 70 mm fitted to my camera A pentax K30 and I am trying to take photos, but getting a flashing F in the screen when trying to take the photos, somebody know why this is happening and how to fix the problem. I am new to photography and tthis camera.
If your lens is a manual lens, (no auto-focus) you will not get the f/stop information in the viewfinder. Make sure that all your camera settings are on manual and try again. If you have a separate flash unit, try it with that and see what happens. Please be sure to set your shutter speed to M for manual. I am not familiar with the lens you have referred, however if it has a green A on the F ring, you may have to release the green A and try the lens at the lowest number and work toward a photograph that you are happy with. Hope this helps. Good luck. Oh, you can also try shutter speeds of TV or AV (aperture value). I usually shoot mainly flowers, so I use TV and a shutter speed of 250 because I have to contend with breezes.

Antonio

Last edited by Tonytee; 08-31-2016 at 09:55 PM. Reason: Additional Information
08-31-2016, 10:06 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Set the aperture ring to A if it's an A-series lens. Otherwise, see here:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/54-pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-me...k-x-k-7-a.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)