Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 29 Likes Search this Thread
09-07-2019, 06:59 AM   #1
Rhod Hughes

Girlfriend's birthday and anniversary soon - need help before making a purchase!

Okay, so, my girlfriend's birthday is coming up in a few weeks, and our anniversary shortly after that. We've been together 4 years now and i want to get her something realllllly good.

Right now she has a Pentax K-R, with a 18-55mm lens and a 25-135mm lens which she uses most often, and like 7 other lenses she uses for event photography that i know nothing about, but they look cool. I'm no photog expert.

She's been eyeing the K1 for a bit, if i remember correctly. That being said, I want to get the k1 body for her.

I've done some research, and it appears the K-R is aging (she still loves it but has spoken about wanting to upgrade...). Is the K1 worth the price for the upgrade? I see it's a pretty penny, and i'm ready to spend that money if it's worth it. She does a lot of amateur photography, and does shoot weddings every now and then, usually as a second photographer/helper. She's not doing photography for work, but absolutely loves it, and does phenomenal work with what she has. Would the K1 be worth it in this instance? Or should i be looking at something more like a k70? The $1000 price difference is appealing, but which one would last her longer? I expect she will get at least 10 years out of the K1, is this accurate? If so, I'd be willing to drop money on this body if she will get YEARS out of it.

Also, are her lenses that she has for the k-r going to work with the k1? some of them appear to be "DA" lenses but not all of them, if i understand correctly the "DA" ones will have to be used in crop mode on the k1, is this worth it?

Thank you!

09-07-2019, 07:36 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by First Poster Quote