Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-17-2021, 02:40 AM   #1
schneekaffee

Advice for shooting in 100x mode (Pentax ME)

Hi everyone!
I recently got my hands on an old Pentax ME and am currently trying to figure out how much about it is still working. I have never worked with analog photography before but this seems like a good place to get some tips for the different issues I've encountered
Main issue so far ist that the shutter (i think?) gets jammed when using the auto mode, exposing every picture for way too long. Batteries are fresh ones and I think it last for too long to be a very long exposure. (It seems to snap back closed after some minutes on its own, but I tend to switch from auto to L/100x when it happens now since that also does the trick).
Because of that, I wanted to try and shoot some pictures on the 100x setting and get them developed, to see if there are other issues as well. I haven't been able to find a lot of info on shooting with this mode though. From what I understood, it sets the exposure time to 1/100s, so the only thing still adjustable is the aperture. Does anyone have tips on what aperture to use depending on the different light conditions (and for example iso200)?
I'm also having quite some trouble loading film, since the tail keeps jumping out again, even after some turns. But maybe that's just a thing of practise^^
If anyone has some ideas for me to try, let me know!
Thanks a lot for your help, have a good day

08-17-2021, 04:55 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Read about the sunny 16 rule, and compensate a bit for the film (or just overexpose by one stop if using iso 200, this is not a method of utmost precision). I got the hang of it with an old camera, and it's all about identifying what aperture is required but in practice i was choosing only a few intermediate values from f2 to f16. You can use a digital camera as a meter at first to get a reading.
08-17-2021, 08:16 AM   #3