Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2011, 04:07 PM   #31
Inactive Account

ist DL Battery problems SOLUTION

Hi guys

This is my first writing to this forum. I was searching Google to find out if other people also experience this problem. I am an electronics technician, and have found out what exactly causes this problem. So, if there still people out there struggling, let me know and I will help.

01-07-2011, 06:07 PM   #32
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
battery solution?

Please do tell. Unless of course you are selling your knowledge to the highest bidder!
01-07-2011, 06:51 PM   #33
MJL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
ist* battery use

I use ist*DS2 for many years and notice it is very critical of battery type & mA. It work best on disposable lithium batteries and Sanyo Eneloop rechargeable. The batteries that show empty on the ist*DS2 display can still fire my flashes in full power for at least 10 shots!
01-08-2011, 07:28 AM - 2 Likes   #34
Inactive Account

ist DL battery "empty" solution

I am an electronics engineer. I will gladly share my knowledge for free.

I have just bought a 2nd hand ist DL and have also experienced the battery "empty" problem. I have plugged a 6V, 4.5Ah sealed lead acid battery into the DC input terminal, and the camera worked fine. I then connected the same battery to the contacts where the AA batteries are inserted. It gave the same "empty" display. I then connected a 2200uF capacitor over the battery terminals, and it displayed battery full and the camera worked. It also works with AA batteries with the cap.

What happens here is that the camera draws a lot of current for a split second when it is switched on. It causes the battery voltage to dip for that split second to just under the low battery threshold, which is measured by it's micro processor. It decides that the battery is too weak to switch the camera on.