Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5700 Likes Search this Thread
12-22-2012, 12:35 PM - 1 Like   #1141

QuoteOriginally posted by spikebebop Quote
drougge = Nice B/W pics , how have you set up your dial settings to achieve these shots? I'm still new to Q and finding it the dial set ups a bit difficult to to get to grips with.
The Q has a number of different B&W modes. One of which is sort of hidden and gives pretty close to tha stark contrast look SOOC.

In the third page of the shooting menu set the Quick Dial to Smart Effect. Then set one of the positions to "Bold Monochrome" and you get pretty close to that look. AFAIK that is the only way to get the 'Bold Monochrome' effect. I also setup another position for the regular B*W mode with filter Effect set to Cyan, High/Low Key Adjust -2, Contrast +4 and Sharpening at +2. I set another position for Reversal Film and the last for Bleach Bypass with Digital Filter set to High Contrast. I leave the off position on 'Natural.'

Shawn

12-22-2012, 12:37 PM   #1142
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Shawn67 Quote
The Q has a number of different B&W modes. One of which is sort of hidden and gives pretty close to tha stark contrast look SOOC.

In the third page of the shooting menu set the Quick Dial to Smart Effect. Then set one of the positions to "Bold Monochrome" and you get pretty close to that look. AFAIK that is the only way to get the 'Bold Monochrome' effect. I also setup another position for the regular B*W mode with filter Effect set to Cyan, High/Low Key Adjust -2, Contrast +4 and Sharpening at +2. I set another position for Reversal Film and the last for Bleach Bypass with Digital Filter set to High Contrast. I leave the off position on 'Natural.'

Shawn
Still gonna keep editing my RAW files in LR4 but I think its awesome that they allow you to have that level of control for in camera effects.
12-22-2012, 12:47 PM   #1143