Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-25-2012, 07:36 AM - 1 Like   #1

Pentax Q & the Cosmicar-Pentax 8-48mm f/1.0 (img samples!)

Just wanted to share with you guys some photos I took with the Cosmicar/Pentax 8-48mm f1.0 over the weekend. I put the wide aperture zoom through its paces, shooting in everything from a car to dimly lit rooms. This is my first time working with the Pentax Q, and I was lucky enough to pick it up for $450 off of Craigslist pretty much brand new .

I gotta say, when I initially received the lens, I thought I was going to turn it around and sell it because it was HUGE. The lens weighs more than the camera itself, but I decided not to let it go because it looks beautiful on the Q. The photos yielded from the set up were decent enough to work with and what I was looking for-- something with a vintage feel to it (like a super fast, light eating lomo, ahah). The photos below aren't edited, but they have been shrunk down to 1400px (if you want, I can post up larger resolution images). Most of the photos I took were in f1.0 and the farthest I've stopped down was f2.8 (which I've indicated below).

Hopefully this will help you decide whether or not you want to pick up this lens! I bought it off of eBay for $130, and the lens is in immaculate condition (complete with box and cap). Best regards!

By the way, DON'T LET THE IMAGES FOOL YOU! The conditions were absolutely far from ideal for photography and a sensor this small. The lens REALLY brightens up the room and is one of the strong points of having such a fast lens (and in this regard, the cosmicar/pentax doesn't disappoint). While sharpness definitely suffers, it's something you gotta expect from a non-megapixel c-mount lens .

f/1.0

f/2.0

f/1.0 vs f/2.8

Last edited by stephography; 03-25-2012 at 07:44 AM.
03-25-2012, 07:41 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter