05-07-2012, 05:26 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Good article on paid photography with small sensors

From 1001 Noisy Cameras

Professional photography with compact cameras ? Ming Thein | Photographer

05-07-2012, 05:52 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ah, once again the truth rears it's ugly head.... all that's left is the hype from those who claim they need more than 12 Mp, although they never actually say why they need it. It's kind of like "I'm a better photographer than you so I need more mega pixels than you, if you don't understand why, that's because I know things you don't, talk to me when you know what I do."

QuoteQuote:
What does this mean? In the real world, my clients almost never have final uses for the images that require more than 12MP when properly shot and composed (i.e. not heavily cropped). We can delude ourselves into thinking more is better – all else equal, it usually is – but most of the time, it makes no difference. Even if you’re doing a billboard, you don’t need medium format – I’ve done a couple with the mere 4MP Nikon D2H – simply because the individual pixels are about the size of golf balls, but nobody notices because you never get any closer than 20 meters.
I produced my first 40 file Mb back in 94, to have a 4x5 film negative made for a poster. It was composed of 17 different images. Now you have people drooling over 36 Mb files. Been there, done that, no need to go back there. Despite the hype.
05-07-2012, 06:33 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

. Really enjoyed it! Thanks
05-07-2012, 06:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by normhead Quote