Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
09-12-2012, 05:32 AM   #1

Am I mental? Q or Q10

I've been planning to get a system camera for years but for various reasons I haven't - possibly because DSLR's seemed to be the way to go, but for their massive size... I just placed an order online and my Pentax Q is on its way to me shortly, with a 01 & 02 lense...

Heres the thing; I'm aware of the new Q10, but for some reason I'm just drawn to the Q. It's small, looks great, and has the fun creative element I'm looking for. So, am I crazy for not waiting for the Q10?

My main purposes are: interior photography - site photos & completed interior architecture projects; creative street photography; nights out etc... I realise I'll need to look into some sort of wide angle or fish eye for the interior stuff, but I'll look into that when I've worked out the camera first. I travel quite a bit, so the small size is ideal + I'm no professional, so I don't need a super big sensor (I think). I suppose I should have come on here before buying, but I was pretty sure of what I wanted...

BTW, is the Q10 a replacement for the Q, or do they intend them side by side?

09-12-2012, 06:16 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Well, the Q has been out for some time and the prices have dropped to a reasonable level. The Q10 has just been announced so we do not know the price and the true spcs as yet.

Buying the Q IMO is the right move.

I too have the Q with 01 & 02 lwns and am saving up for the 06 lens.
09-12-2012, 07:37 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't think you're crazy for not waiting for the Q10. There are improvements on the Q10, but it's close enough to the original Q that it's really more of a question of how much you're wanting to spend. Plus, you're not really locked in. Nothing says you can't sell your Q body in a few years and upgrade to a newer body.
09-12-2012, 08:18 AM   #4