Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-19-2012, 07:03 PM   #1
Forum Member

Q macro lenses and zooms

I am a total newb at photography. The pentax q is my first interchangeable lens camera.

I was wondering if any of the "q" sized lens, would be good for macro photography, i seem to enjoy taking photos of smaller things.

And out of the two zoom lenses, the 02 and 06... what is the difference. What is the general purpose of each of these lenses.

Thanks in advance.

12-19-2012, 07:15 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The 02 lens is a walkaround lens while the 06 lens is a tele (longer zoom) lens.

There is no dedicated macro lens for the Q at the moment, so I believe you would need to adapt an actual macro lens using one of the many available adapters (Pentax K, Canon EOS, Nikon F, MFT, Sony, etc.).

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

12-19-2012, 07:32 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
There is no macro as such, but the 05 toy tele is a decent close up lens. Depending on what you mean by "smaller" it might be good enough. (The 02 zoom also focuses quite close, but I've never tried it.)
12-19-2012, 07:35 PM   #4

Would a macro lens (say F-mount) with an adapter not be affected by the smaller sensor on the Q? I know the image will appear to be larger but I guess my question is if the crop factor affect the focus at a closer range with a macro lens. Excuse how I'm phrasing all that because I'm new to understand all these terms and concepts.

12-19-2012, 07:38 PM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster