QuoteOriginally posted by baro-nite Quote
My makeshift eQtorial Qnfiguration:
Cool! Look forward to the pics.
01-22-2013, 05:47 PM   #33
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
My makeshift eQtorial Qnfiguration:

Tonight I'm going to try video capture and see if I can get better images for stacking that way. Oops, just noticed I need to put the TCs back on.
The video project is a great idea... hadn't thought of that
01-22-2013, 06:02 PM - 3 Likes   #34
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I have no experience in astrophotography (probably obvious), but I am amazed that the Q could accomplish this. This is Jupiter with what I think are 4 of its moons. Q with Tokina 800mm f/8 manual lens.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX Q  Photo 
01-22-2013, 06:43 PM   #35
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by wcr13 Quote
I have no experience in astrophotography (probably obvious), but I am amazed that the Q could accomplish this. This is Jupiter with what I think are 4 of its moons. Q with Tokina 800mm f/8 manual lens.
Well, now you do have experience in astrophotography. Well done! Does indeed look like Jupiter; the moons always stay pretty much in line so that must be a star off to the right. (When was this taken?)

At f/8 you should be able to get a good exposure at ISO 800, 1/80 second; the moons will be dim, but you should get detail on Jupiter. Is there a mirror lens in my future???
01-22-2013, 07:10 PM   #36
Veteran Member

Nice work. The more you shoot the better you get. That is Jupiter. There are 4 moons but like you, every pic i've taken only shows 3
01-22-2013, 07:27 PM   #37
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by ivoire Quote
The video project is a great idea... hadn't thought of that