Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-02-2013, 01:25 PM   #1

Location: Jessica Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park, or Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Focus Peaking

I'm new to Q, it arrived on Tuesday. The first thing I did was charge the battery and then I updated the firmware for the camera and the 02 lens that I have. So I have a question about focus peaking. How does it work? As in how do I understand what it is showing me and what do I do with it. It is probably really simple and I'm over thinking things (I do this a lot), but I I have no clue how to use it. My other camera is a K-r and it doesn't have focus peaking. Since it was added after the manual was made there is no information on it in the manual.

Thanks in advance,

bigted

03-02-2013, 01:51 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

You'll see a white outline around the things that are in focus. Once your subject has an outline, fire away!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
03-02-2013, 01:52 PM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Focus peaking is a manual focus assist, it will outline objects in focus. In addition to focus peaking the Q also has an option to zoom in 2X and 4X to assist in manual focus

Hans
03-02-2013, 01:57 PM - 1 Like   #4

This is how I understand it but I could be wrong: Focus peaking is great for helping you get exactly what you want in focus. It does this by using a filter that exposes details in a "high pass" type filter. Meaning, it will sharpen the borders, fine details in the image. This really helps you determine what is in focus.