Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-22-2013, 09:28 PM   #1

Is exFAT format supported by Q ?

Good day to all,

Am a newbie here (just got my Q last weekend )

I tried the NTFS format (on a 32G SDHC) and Q says something like "card not formatted"

I am wondering is exFAT format supported by Q ?
Am gonna get a SDXC card if the answer is 'yes'

Am thinking it will be worthwhile to get a 64G card to shoot some longer-minutes videos once in a while

03-22-2013, 10:11 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Use the camera menu to format the card so it can use it.
The manual lists the supported card types.
03-22-2013, 10:41 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by marlboro123 Quote
Good day to all,

I tried the NTFS format (on a 32G SDHC) and Q says something like "card not formatted"

Am thinking it will be worthwhile to get a 64G card to shoot some longer-minutes videos once in a while
I believe the answer to your question is "yes". I have a SDXC card that I've used in just about every current Pentax over the past couple of months and it turns out that it's formatted to use exFAT. Never bothered checking before reading this post, though

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

03-23-2013, 04:13 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Do you actually hit the file size limit?
Most likely you hit the time limit so that the camera stays a photo camera instead of video camera, that wuld be 29 minutes.

03-24-2013, 09:10 PM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks, guys...