Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-06-2013, 05:17 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The Q learning curve

Ok, so I got my Q last night and thought I would start this thread to document the learning curve. Consider I have been shooting for 30 years with film and digital, and my present "collection" includes 3 film bodies and 4 DSLRs ranging from *istD to K5D. Add to that ~55 lenses.

I got the Q adaptor as well

First experience is that ordering from B&H is great. Ordered on line Tuesday night, arrived Friday by courier, all customs and brokerage fees included. Delivery cost a whopping $10CDN

The Q itself. Gee it's really small
Charged the batteries over dinner, tested a couple of shots with the standard zoom, then tried the adaptor with my series 1 70-210/3.5. Big mistake without a tripod foot. So ordered a metal foot for canon 100mm macro for $6.99 Will modify likely pad with leather to fit . Until then, either the 02 zoom or lenses with foot

Update 1

Spent quite some time trying to get updated firmware, the Q shipped with version 0.00 and it had to be updated to use the adaptor. Finally found a link to download, it is in thenQ adaptor thread. There is no link presently on the Pentax site, as they have pulled the link to V1.11 but they have also removed links to all other versions, or more likely not restored them when they pulled V1.11

Update 2

New idea for foot, I took the one off my sigma 70-200/2.8 zoom, and cut a piece of thick leather to match the width and circumference of the adaptor. Works like a charm. Nice and snug. Let me do some trial shots with the series 1 lens and the adaptor. With correct software loaded and using the adaptor I was surprised how loud the leaf shutter in the adaptor was.