Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
06-23-2013, 10:48 AM   #1

newbie to dSLR and my pentax q: question:)

Hello all, I've been lurking for awhile and finally decided to join. I am an absolute beginner with slr cameras and I bought a pentax q last week and have been experimenting. I've read read read and continue to read about dSLR photography but it's still confusing to me at this point. Right now I'm just using the 01 standard prime lens until I learn more about how my camera works before I attempt to buy any other lenses. I've tried all settings and I've messed with aperture and ISO settings based on what I've read but nothing is coming out well so far. I wanted to post a picture to show you the result I'm getting and hope that someone may be able to tell me what's wrong with it, and suggest a better setting I might use to correct it. I used to push my point and shoot to the max, had specific settings I learned were best, and edited until I had some really great photos. I know I have a good eye but sincerely lack the technical skills it takes for dSLR photos. Essentially, all focal points in my photos with my pentax q are turning out blurry. You can see this with the first pic I have attached here, the seedling is blurry. The seedling in the second pic is a bit better, but still not as sharp as I'd like. Can anyone tell what I'm doing wrong by looking at these pics? Thanks in advance!

Attached Images

View Picture EXIF
PENTAX Q  Photo 

Last edited by noviceinla; 06-30-2013 at 09:33 AM.
06-23-2013, 12:23 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The first one is out of focus, either you/camera had the focus point pointed to the background or the seedling was closer to the camera than the lens can focus.
The second one almost looks like it has been blurred by movement, what was the shutter speed?

Don't worry, you will figure out how to work the camera and you got some nice pics on your flickr.