Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
07-01-2013, 07:32 PM   #1

Macro lenses for the Pentax Q

Hello, I am still very new to photography in general and I've been over the alternative lens thread here many many many times but it's confusing to me as I'm still so new to this. I can't find a reference for a good macro lens that is not made by Pentax (too expensive!) to use for my Q. I don't have a lot of money at all to spend and wondering if someone can please tell me of a lens that takes good macro shots, i.e. for plants, flowers, insects, etc, tiny details that will work with my Q that's not expensive. Also, I'm not sure what lens to use for good moon shots which I yearn to experiment with. If anyone can give me advice, I appreciate it, thanks!

07-01-2013, 07:46 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There is no dedicated macro lens for the Q yet, but Pentax is planning one. For now, most people use an adapter together with an SLR macro lens. Short focal lengths like 50mm is what you should be looking for, as longer macros will be very hard to control on the Q.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
07-01-2013, 07:58 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thank you, Adam, I appreciate your help. Do you know if the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens would be good for the purposes I desire? What about moon shots? Thanks!
07-01-2013, 07:59 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Have you considered an adapter and using a manual K or M42 mount lens?

Pentax M 50 f/4, Pentax M 100 f/4, and Takumar 50 f/4 are pretty good macro lenses, but they don't cost a fortune.