Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2013, 01:39 PM   #1

Looking to get a new "Street" lens, wondering which one would be best.

Hey guys, I've had my Q for about 8 months now and I'm ready to get my first lens other than the 01 Prime and I've got a couple questions.

First, I'm planning on doing primarily street photography with this new lens, so I'd preferably like one where I can get a good focus from far away and preferably zoom in. I looked into the native lenses and the 06 Telephoto looked pretty good, but that leads me to my question.

As someone who literally started their photography with the Q and it's 01, would it be a better idea to buy a K-mount adaptor and a K lens or stick with the Q's native ones? Budgets pretty tight since I'm an almost-broke highschool student, but I really want to get into street photography and the 01 is a bit tough to catch those little "moments" with and still end up with a good shot.

Hope you guys can help me out, this is still all so new. Thanks,
-Myke

08-10-2013, 02:33 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by DarkNexiz Quote
Hey guys, I've had my Q for about 8 months now and I'm ready to get my first lens other than the 01 Prime and I've got a couple questions.

First, I'm planning on doing primarily street photography with this new lens, so I'd preferably like one where I can get a good focus from far away and preferably zoom in. I looked into the native lenses and the 06 Telephoto looked pretty good, but that leads me to my question.

As someone who literally started their photography with the Q and it's 01, would it be a better idea to buy a K-mount adaptor and a K lens or stick with the Q's native ones? Budgets pretty tight since I'm an almost-broke highschool student, but I really want to get into street photography and the 01 is a bit tough to catch those little "moments" with and still end up with a good shot.

-Myke