Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2013, 09:50 PM   #1

First post + seeking ideas :)

Hey there

First off let me introduce myself and tell you where im at and then i have some questions

So i am a resident of Australia and purchased a second hand Nikon D100 on the cheap to to did my feet into the world photography and get away from point and shoot. In anticipation a trip to Europe i also purchased a Sony Action Cam.

I managed to get some reasonable footage and photos but i did not really take it all to seriously, plus carrying around the Nikon D100 every day was a MASSIVE hassle and soon became a chore.

Once got home from my trip, i soon realised that i really enjoyed the whole process plus how easy it was with a little imagination to edit videos ( Imovie ) to something half interesting that you can show friends or family.

So we are off to Europe again this year and we really want be a little more creative and take it more seriously so i have decided to buy a more modern and better quality camera for stills, that also shoots video so we can do a VLOG every few days and put it online to show family and friends what we are up to plus for our own benefit to look back on when the trip is over.

So i suppose im seeking some ideas from you more experienced folk about a potential set up . I have done my research, but as someone who is still very green to photography that can only go so far.

My criteria for this includes..
-Small and compact ( no more lugging around bigger cameras and lenses )
-a healthy compromise between budget and quality
-Ease of use

My planned set up so car includes..

-Pentax Q7 + 15-55mm lens, possibly the 06 telephoto but IMO is surplus to my needs.

-Metz Mecalite for Vlogs on the run in poor lit areas.
Metz Mecalight LED-320 AUSTRALIAN STOCK | CameraPro Australia

-A small microphone of some kind