Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-20-2013, 08:59 PM - 1 Like   #1

Q7: My First Pentax Experience

I obtained a PENTAX Q7 review unit a few weeks ago and have been using it quite a bit.

This is my first time using a Pentax camera, and I have to say, I now understand the passion that loyalists feel for this brand, even if the decidedly lower end Q is more hobbyist than hardcore. No, it may not have the legendary build quality that I've heard so much about, but it does have a fantastic user experience, none the less.

It amazes me that a camera so small still manages to have such a classic photography interface. I love direct access dials and buttons on my cameras, and hate diving into menus, so the Q really appealed to me. I also was looking for something that would be as light and small as possible, but still retained lots of easy, manual control, and Raw shooting. While I would have preferred a bigger sensor, the 1/1.7 produced some very nice images.

The Q inspired me to produce my very first ever video review, and I've posted it on YouTube. Its a little unpolished, but I hope it conveys my enthusiasm for this little camera. I was partly inspired by Blunty, on YouTube, whose effusive praise of the original Q really piqued my interest in the device.

I hope to get my hands on a GR some time soon -- that looks like the ultimate street shooter.

Please check out my review -- i'd welcome some constructive feedback:

Best,
Doug

09-21-2013, 12:05 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
liked the style a lot - some effects kept things interesting (perspective change of the 5d, God's fingers pointing at things). Voice wasn't always keeping up w/ the video, but that's just a nit. Good review overall, but since it's a system, some talk about lens qualities would have been welcome. Music at the end was perfect for your city shots - I ended up downloading it. Thanks for the lead - and for the vid too!