Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-19-2013, 04:31 AM   #1

New to Q7 and question on Cross Processing option

Hi,
Got a Q7 yesterday and this introduces me to Pentax.

I'm kinda new to this, after getting an APS-C mirroless early this year after woeful pictures in museums and art galleries in Amsterdam on my holidays.
Loved the larger sensor, and learned a lot, but on a trip to a local wildlife park, the shallow DOF of a large sensor proved a problem and we had many "missed" pictures - out of focus, focus on the wrong bit etc..
So as a compromise, I bought a Fujifilm f900 exr travel compact, thinking it would fill the gaps. however we ended up taking it on evenings out in lower light conditions because of it's smaller size and it was poor at best.
Right, the current compromise (larger physical size) is a Q7 and I'm blown away with it. It gives me all the original things I was looking for like capturing quick shots we sometimes missed with the other camera. Plus, and a big one, is how much better low light pictures are - way better than I have a right to expect for a sensor of this size and stuffs the Fuji 900 sidewards.

I'm so pleased with it, and am happy with the compromise on a bit larger size. Hope so much they do a physically thinner wide angel lens for it.

I'm amazed at how feature rich it is, and how sensible the menu's are, with plenty of buttons how quick you can choose things. It's simply stunning for what it is.

Our APS-C camera is a Sony Nex 3N and it is superb picture wise, exceeded all our expectations, but the wife says, and I agree, that it needs more buttons ala Nex 7 and we just might upgrade next year for this reason. At that time, Pentax is seriously in with a chance if they have the same ethos as this Q7.