Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-22-2013, 12:58 AM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Gallery
03 Lens: Focus lock helper

Is it just me or is the focus ring overly sensitive and prone to be moved every time you look at the camera? I have done various versions of tape to maintain focus but that is tacky. (I liked the blue painters tape best though. Easy to remove and no residue.) I have a solution if anyone is interested.

I designed a ring with a small tab that fits into the focus ring knurl. While it is not "continuous" focus, it jumps between notches, there is enough DOF to cover a fraction of a click. I've been using this for 6 months with no problems. I do have 2 pieces of double stick tape holding the ring in place. I love it, it looks cool and much easier to live with than tape is. The ring was modeled in SolidWorks and printed on an Objet printer with a 24 micron resolution. You could not print this with a common FDM Makerbot type printer. ( I have access to various 3D printers and have those too, so I know their capabilities and I've been 3D printing for 11+ years.)

What do you think?

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-7  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-7  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-7  Photo 
12-22-2013, 01:03 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Check my solution in this thread. https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/136-pentax-q/233209-03-fisheye-focus-keeper-tip.html

The printed keeper looks cool.
12-22-2013, 04:13 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I dont have an 03 lens, but wow that is cool! Now its got me wondering what other camera accessories could be printed
12-22-2013, 07:36 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

1. What a marvelous idea

2. I don't understand the concept of 3D printing so I have no idea of how it is made.

3. I NEED ONE