Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2014, 03:15 PM - 1 Like   #1

I love the Q but...

I have been using the Q for about 2 years. It has given me some of my best photographs. I love the camera and how versatile it is.

But...

I feel like I want to move onto something a little more advanced. I could probably pull a lot more out of the Q but I simply do not have a lot of money to keep it + buy a new camera. Selling the Q (01 Prime Lens, 03 Fisheye, plus a few other accessories) would put me into the financial situation where I could afford a K50 or possibly a used K5.

I really wish the Q had a viewfinder (I tried LCD Loupes and had mixed emotions about them). I've been using other DSLR from people and just enjoy the experience of photography more when using those types of cameras.

Has anyone here used the Q, sold it, then moved onto a DSLR? Did you regret selling the bundle of joy that the Q is? I know I would. I guess the biggest issue for myself is the size. I carry the Q everywhere. I am not used to carrying a DSLR around. Will I get over that through time?

Just looking for some advice from people who own both a DSLR and Q or people looking to buy a DSLR after using the Q. A friendly discussion!

Thank you!

02-02-2014, 03:24 PM   #2
Pentaxian

You can buy the original Q so cheap now I feel it's not worth selling. It's a unique 'cult' camera worth keeping even if you only bring it out at parties.
I fell in love with mine and used it more than any other camera for almost a year, now the MX-1 and the K-01 get the most use. But I don't think I'd ever sell my Q and the 06 lens I bought later because it's just not worth selling.

I have a well used K-7 but I don't carry it with me, it's too big with my preferred 300mm lens on it. I don't think I'd like to be down to just one camera which is a DSLR.
I take it when I know I'll need it.
02-02-2014, 03:50 PM - 1 Like   #3