Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-15-2014, 03:49 PM   #1

How to find out what lens uses what mount?

Hi Guys,
I am fairly new to photography and I am not sure how you would find who uses what mounts. I know about C, D and FD but I see others that I am not sure of such as Nikon using both F and G mounts?

If I want a cheap telephoto lens to mess around with moon shots, and I came up with something like this:

Sigma DL 100-300 mm F/4.5-6.7 DL AF Lens For Nikon

I can't find out how to know what mount it is, and for some reason, most sellers are not aware.
Is there a site with a chart of basic lenses i.e. if Sigma makes a lens that fits Nikon, then it will be X-mount, etc.?

Thanks

04-15-2014, 04:04 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Here in Pentax-Land, almost everything is K-Mount. Makes it easy.
04-15-2014, 04:07 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm not sure there is a simple chart. Lots of info on the web but you might have to go to brand specific sites to find what you want. Since this is a Pentax forum, easy to answer your question re Pentax stuff, but with other brands it gets complicated. Best advice is find out what mount the lens you are looking at has and then research it from there.
04-15-2014, 04:09 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Welcome to Pentax Forums.

This should be what you're looking for : Lens mount - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

04-15-2014, 04:11 PM   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by nickhodak6 Quote
Hi Guys,
I am fairly new to photography and I am not sure how you would find who uses what mounts. I know about C, D and FD but I see others that I am not sure of such as Nikon using both F and G mounts?

If I want a cheap telephoto lens to mess around with moon shots, and I came up with something like this:

Sigma DL 100-300 mm F/4.5-6.7 DL AF Lens For Nikon