Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
05-23-2014, 08:26 PM   #1

New Q10 or Q7

Hi Gang,

I've wanted a small changeable lens camera for years but was always priced out with the 4/3's. I'm no pro, just an enthusiastic amateur. My birthday is coming up so I thought I'd take another look and I discovered the Q series. Perfect!

I can buy a NIB used Q10 locally for $200. The Q7 from the store is $450 (Canadian). I'm leaning towards the Q10 then adding an additional lens but I wanted to see what the pro's here think.

And if somebody knows where to get a Q7 cheaper I'm all ears!

S.

05-23-2014, 08:42 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by sharp21 Quote
Hi Gang,

I've wanted a small changeable lens camera for years but was always priced out with the 4/3's. I'm no pro, just an enthusiastic amateur. My birthday is coming up so I thought I'd take another look and I discovered the Q series. Perfect!

I can buy a NIB used Q10 locally for $200. The Q7 from the store is $450 (Canadian). I'm leaning towards the Q10 then adding an additional lens but I wanted to see what the pro's here think.

And if somebody knows where to get a Q7 cheaper I'm all ears!

S.
The Q7 has a larger sensor, better image quality, and several performance improvements; the Q10 is pretty much the original Q in a different body. So I'd recommend the Q7

Here's our Q7 review, I hope it helps make the decision easier:
Pentax Q7 Review - Introduction - Pentax Camera Forums

The Q7 is $376 in the US ($396 with lens), I'd recommend checking how much international shipping is at B&H:
Pentax Q7 Cameras | B&H Photo Video

If it's going to Canada it may be cheaper, plus there's no tax.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)