Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
05-13-2016, 05:14 PM   #46
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by reh321 Quote
For "street shooting" situations {i.e., when I don't want my presence to change the picture} I'd rather have a tilting screen. I glued on one of those "flipbac" mirrors, but I've never gotten used to using it, and now I'm literally stuck with it; in theory, we can still see a modern LCD at such an acute angle that neither tilt nor mirror should be necessary - we should be able to see it while holding the Q a couple of feet below our eyes - but I'm not very good at that either.
Why not just forget looking at the screen and just point and shoot?

05-13-2016, 07:33 PM   #47
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Tony Belding Quote
s. Q lenses don't have anything like that [focus scale], so it would be guesswork.
Actually, it's very easy to add a useful pseudo-focus-scale and use it to predict DOF and/or hyperfocal points for selected distances you expect to use. Sort of like 'Scene Modes' except for focusing convenience.

Simply focus accurately on a few points at the distances you commonly use and mark them with a fine point marker on the focus ring and add a a fixed index mark. My 03 has such reference range marks added which greatly speeds manual focusing for frequently encountered situations.

Record the markings for future reference. Add notes for DOF at selected apertures if desired.

(And before someone starts in again about how sloppy and inaccurate that might be, remember, there's absolutely nothing preventing you from further refining focus by any and all means available.)

On the occasions when I've used prepared 'range marks' in the field I've used an erasable label on the bottom of the camera body for quick reference notes.

Last edited by pacerr; 05-13-2016 at 07:39 PM.
05-14-2016, 04:24 AM   #48
Forum Member

toy lenses