Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2014, 09:27 PM   #1
Staff Writer

Photos: Gallery
Q/Q7 Battery Life-an investigation

Greetings,
After one of the periodic threads last month about Q battery life, I decided to do some investigating for two reasons:
  • Users seem to be getting either under 100 shots per charge, or several hundred. There seems to be large numbers in each group. And there are Qs/Q10s/Q7s and Pentax/Wasabi/etc batteries in both groups.
  • I have a lot of experience professionally with tablets, cell phones and other small electronics that use similar batteries, and have found small differences in settings make a HUGE difference
So on August 5 I grabbed the next battery in my bag -- a Pentax OEM that had been sitting in there for months -- noted the frame on my Q7, and started shooting.

After a quick shoot today I got annoyed that this experiment was STILL going on, and decided to just shoot until it died. Final tally: 460 frames of RAW+. More than 300 were shot before I started actively trying to kill the battery.

Here's what I propose: Let's all note what batteries we're using, how we charge them, and our settings. Let's see if we can identify which settings place undue strain on the battery.

Here's my setup: I have a Q7, a Q, plus I've given Qs to my wife and daughter. I've seen no difference in battery life between any of the bodies.

I have the Pentax OEM batteries that came with the bodies, plus I bought the Wasabi batteries and charger kit. I've seen no difference in battery life between the Pentax and Wasabi models. I charge the batteries in the charger that came with the Wasabi kit.

Here are my settings: RAW+; AF; Distortion Correction On; D-Range Auto/Auto; Hi-ISO Auto; Shake Reduction on; Live View Off; Instant Review 1 sec. LCD settings are Default.