Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-13-2014, 10:03 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Q accessories and hoods - DIY-itis

I'm new to the Q and only acquired it to play with the super-tele opportunities with older M-class lenses but finding it surprisingly capable for its sensor size. Matrix metering has been generally good under most outdoor conditions after tweaking the +/- EV a bit.

I agree with the comments about flare. Not much you can do about on-axis flare (source within the FOV) but shading the front elements with ANYTHING makes a noticeable improvement in highlight bloom and lose of contrast owing to off-axis, incident light sources.

My first 'fix' has been to get a half a dozen cheap 40.5mm UV filters, remove the glass and 'MacGyver' some compact/pancake hoods. Some spare rear lens and body caps offer additional ideas. Stacking lens/body caps with a 'donut hole' to produce an extension ring hasn't been successful yet with Q lenses - maybe with a Pk-Q adapter?

- Simply stack a few empty filter rings for starters. You can easily add more until vignetting is evident as the FL of the lens increases.

- Epoxying/super gluing various small containers (cut out center of course) to the filter rings produces some interesting custom hoods. Think any of the small single-serve condiment containers with flat black spray paint or black Magic Marker.

- Replacing the filter glass with a card- fiberboard disk with a rectangular aperture determined by trial and error (mostly error!) produces a pancake type hood similar to small DA lenses. Stacking rings to lengthen the "hood" helps compensate for longer FLs. (taping across a round hole to make masks easy to experiment with vignetting.)

One body cap is being prepped to experiment with pin-hole camera disks. (Hole size and spacers for registration distance?)