Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-29-2016, 09:20 AM   #1

Contact RF mount lenses on Q

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi All,

I am a newbie to the Pentax Q World and this forum. I have been using micro 4/3 cameras (Panasonic GM1 and Olympus OMD-EM1) with modern m4/3 lenses and legacy lenses like Nikkor and Voigtlander lenses with Contax RF mount, some great lenses in Old 4/3 mount, Exakta mount, C mount, and D mount. All the legacy lenses work fine with m4/3 bodies with the exception of those D mount lenses which I just cannot focus to infinity.

Having learnt about Pentax Q's ability to work with D mount lenses and the 5 times crop factor Q could offer, I just bought myself a Pentax Q with a number 1 standard prime. The Q body is very much the same size as my Panasonic GM1 but the lens is smaller than all the micro 4/3 lenses I have. I can see why Pentax named this model "Q" with its small lenses very much proportional to the Q body; very cute indeed.

My apologies if what I am looking for has been asked many times in this forum before. My question is how to setup the Q properly to work with Contax RF mount lenses (Nikkor-Q.C 135mm f3.5 and Voigtlander S Skopar 50mm f2.5) and perhaps any other legacy lenses? I set the aperture and shutter mode to M with ISO set to 400, using manual focusing with peaking (I've upgraded the firmware to the latest 1.14 for Q). So far I could only take pictures of objects around 2 to 3 meters away with stop down to f22. I just cannot focus distanced objects with infinity. Is this all Pentax Q can do with Contax mount lenses or is there something else I can set?

Many Thanks.

Kind Regards,

Gilbert

02-29-2016, 09:30 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter