Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-06-2016, 09:11 PM   #1
Forum Member




Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 89
manual mode and the 01 lens. f1.9 setting doesn't stick?

Just noticed an odd issue with my Pentax Q original version. In Av, Tv, Bc, modes etc. I can shoot at f1.9 with the 01 lens. When in manual mode I can select f1.9 but when i take the shot it goes back to f2.0 and says f2.0 in the recorded shot data on the Q. Anyone run into this? Seems like a software bug or something since it works fine in other modes. I tried resetting the settings and that didn't fix it either. Any ideas on what to do or is this normal in manual mode? Q has fw 1.14 and 1.01 for lens. Thanks!

07-07-2016, 08:28 AM   #2
Pentaxian




Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,989
Well, just tested and mine does the same. Weird. But it does not do that on the Q7.
07-07-2016, 04:15 PM   #3
Site Supporter




Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Photos: Albums
Posts: 284
Interesting. I could not reproduce this with my original Q + 01. It stayed at 1.9.
Q v1.14 01 v1.00
07-07-2016, 04:49 PM   #4
Pentaxian




Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,989
QuoteOriginally posted by caliscouser Quote
Interesting. I could not reproduce this with my original Q + 01. It stayed at 1.9.
Q v1.14 01 v1.00
Lens firmware bug in 1.01? Or intentional for some reason? Although Q7 doesn't do it as I said. Seems like a bug since it lets you go to 1.9, then jumps back to 2.0 when you touch the shutter button...

07-07-2016, 05:29 PM   #5
Site Supporter




Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Photos: Albums
Posts: 284
QuoteOriginally posted by vonBaloney Quote
Lens firmware bug in 1.01? Or intentional for some reason? Although Q7 doesn't do it as I said. Seems like a bug since it lets you go to 1.9, then jumps back to 2.0 when you touch the shutter button...
What if you green button AE Lock (this requires config) before touching the shutter?
07-07-2016, 05:38 PM   #6
Pentaxian




Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,989
QuoteOriginally posted by caliscouser Quote
What if you green button AE Lock (this requires config) before touching the shutter?
Green button AE lock? Don't see any such option, but any way I try it switches to 2.0 once it locks focus (but even if you turn off AF it still does it).
07-07-2016, 09:02 PM   #7
Forum Member




Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 89
Original Poster
Good to know it's not just mine that is doing it. Must be a firmware bug of some kind. I noticed it will jump to f2.0 when you autofocus with back button auto focus (green button for AF) as well. Even if you don't focus and try to take it at f1.9 it will still jump to it and record it as f2.0. I noticed the same behavior in video mode in that it will jump to f2.0 from f1.9 if you autofocus. However in video mode if you manual focus and don't use AF it will let you record at f1.9. Weird bug. If others have this too maybe we can try and get Pentax to fix it with another FW update. Doubtful since they haven't done one in ages but would be worth a try if anyone has someone we can contact at Pentax about it.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
01 lens, camera, f1.9, f2.0, issue, lens, mirrorless, mode, modes, pentax q, pentax q10, pentax q7, q-s1, q10, q7, settings, shot
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manual mode doesn't enter BrizioPaes Troubleshooting and Beginner Help 3 04-12-2016 09:40 AM
Was this bug reported ever: K-3 gets stuck in review mode and doesn't response at all alexbird Pentax K-3 22 09-14-2014 12:12 AM
K-x Flash Doesn't Pop Up - Not Setting or Lens Related matlobi Troubleshooting and Beginner Help 4 04-19-2014 04:43 PM
Lens doesn't mount on K-01 geirix Troubleshooting and Beginner Help 28 03-20-2013 05:53 PM
LENS HELP: Auto Focus & A-Setting of Aperture Doesn't Function richard balonglong Troubleshooting and Beginner Help 4 08-17-2012 11:56 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top