Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2016, 08:50 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
The Dilemma: Which Camera to Take?

Today I went to the Goodguys Lone Star Nationals car show near Forth Worth, at the Texas Motor Speedway. I've been to a lot of car shows, but until now they were all the smaller, local events. I thought a show with 200 cars was big. This was 2500 cars! Obviously I was going to take a camera. But which one?

My latest darling has been the Sony Alpha A7, which I've been using only with adapted vintage lenses. I knew that it can perform well, very well indeed. . . sometimes. I'm still learning my way around it, though. I'm still figuring it out. The last couple of little events that I took it to, the results were actually a bit disappointing. I didn't feel confident taking it to this.

I considered the Pentax K-S2, which should be excellent out in the bright sun with its OVF and the 20-40mm Limited lens. However... As good as it is, that lens might be a bit restrictive. Also, it could become a burden to carry all over those vast grounds for several hours.

I considered the Q7 Premium Kit. Easier to carry, yes... But the LCD is sometimes feeble in the sun, and I'd be juggling lenses, and I'd still have to tote a bag everywhere -- although a small and very light one.

I considered the Fujifilm XF1. It fits very neatly into a pocket of my canvas vest, so no bag is needed. The X-Trans sensor is slightly larger than the Q7's, and the zoom lens should cover my needs pretty well. I've never used the XF1 heavily, but it's a stylish and solidly built piece of gear. After going around in circles a few times, I decided on the XF1. Of course, I also tossed the Q7 bag in the car, because why not? It goes everywhere.