Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-09-2017, 09:49 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Why isn't the Q (and all other Q bodies) more popular?

I've been using a Q-S1 for a couple of months now and it has really quickly become my go-to camera. My K-1 barely gets used as I can carry a Q and Q-S1 with 5 lenses in a bag that would fit just the K-1 and one extra lens.

Here's another reason why I love using the Q-S1. The crop factor makes it extremely good for planetary and lunar photography. It's an absolute stunner, especially compared to the poor chaps with expensive telescopes and DSLRs that have to stack a million shots to get the same sharpness. Huzzah!

Attached Images

03-09-2017, 10:13 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I blame poor Pentax marketing, cell phones, & the "why would I want to buy a 1/1.7 sensor camera when I can get a (insert sensor size here) camera for only (insert price here) that can outperform that little camera by a long shot" syndrome.

But yeah. Very poor marketing. They didn't even try in the USA. I personally love the Q. Never got one 'cause it gets too expensive trying to run multiple camera systems for me.
03-09-2017, 10:42 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For the USA market, Q was initially overpriced and did not compete well with EVF cameras - and Ricoh offered very little market or distribution support here. If a camera can't sell itself here it just isn't accepted. Often RIAC didn't even try, or openly rejected products. Q and K-01 fell in the latter camp and Q-S1 isn't even in the catalog (not offered in USA).
03-09-2017, 10:51 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

m43 competes very well with it other than extreme crop telephoto. If you give up f2.8 and rely on the improved ISO performance of the m43 sensor over the q sensors you can have an exceptionally small system with EVF options and a wide range of lenses.