Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-09-2010, 11:02 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Professionals using Pentax :: Feasible?

((Disclaimer:: First, before anything else, I will say that this is NOT a troll topic and I'm NOT meaning to get people angry.))

Anyway, as some of you may already know, I recently purchased a K-R with the 18-55 and 55-300 lenses. It will arrive in a few days.
Though I no longer have any doubts about the strength and flexibility such a kit provides, I wonder what I'm going to do, say, 3 years from now with Pentax. (Assuming the K-r has enough staying power to last that long, which I'm sure it does.)

If Pentax does *not* release a full-frame body, will that hinder the brand from competing at a professional level? As of right now, I am NOT a professional and this has little impact upon my immediate future.
But will it down the road?

I am trying to improve my skills to the point where I might be able to earn a supplementary-income from this art. (Most likely through portrait photography, weddings, etc.)

Will deeply investing in the K-mount system make logical sense if that is my goal?
Or will I have to sell this all off in a few years to support another brand?

Your thoughts?

11-09-2010, 11:21 AM   #2
Veteran Member

There are many working professionals on this board who shoot Pentax every day and have been more than satisfied.

The only knock against shooting Pentax professionally would be that they have a pretty poor support network; repairs can take several weeks.

Look at the lens lineup and see if it suits the type of shooting you want to do. If it doesn't, go elsewhere.
11-09-2010, 11:28 AM   #3

yes, why not

there is no reason why not.

benjikan is shooting pentax (and other brands).
He shoots for Vogue, on Fashion weeks, etc.

Of course, still most professionals shoot canon or nikon. But I do not see an absolute need for FF for this.
11-09-2010, 12:06 PM   #4
Administrator