Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-10-2010, 04:46 AM   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I wouldn't call myself a professional, that implies my sole income is derived purely from my photography. I'm also a musician, and in both fields I have to deal with a lot of equipment snobbery and most of it is complete and utter BS. Some people say Pearl flutes aren't as good as Murumatsu dispite the fact that half the flute makers from pearl originally worked for Murumatsu.

You get the same kind of crap from people who own gold or platinum flutes turning up their noses at silver flutes - an opinion that is based on the fallacy that silver instruments make a harsher sound - again utter BS - in realidy no one can really tell the difference. If you want a better sound, don't get gold flute: get a wood flute. I play a Cocus wood flute that is 103 years old, and it sounds better than any other modern instrument I have compared it to (including other wooden instruments), an opinion shared by others who have heard this instrument.

I use four camera systems Canon,Nikon,Pentax and Leica...and it really is just a choice between what kind of image I want to create, and more importantly what kind of lens I want to use. Brand doesn't mean as much as others think, in the end it is the image that matters.

11-10-2010, 07:29 AM   #17
Veteran Member

To be clear, Shane, I'm talking about megapixel count. Another pro on this thread said he used the K10D, which is about the same MP count as my W80. For most purposes, 10 MP is enough. Newspapers I deal with provide 10 MP cameras to their staff. I can't tell the difference between 8X10 prints from my W80 and my K20D.