Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-04-2011, 10:56 PM   #1
Forum Member

Interesting Niche . . . And Lack of Marketability

Hello, all -

So, for 20+ years, I was an avid hobbyist. Three years ago, I had the opportunity to contribute to a community guide published once very few years. Since then, I've sold an equal number of fine art prints and editorial use files . . . not enough to pay bills, but enough to pay for web hosting, a new lens here and there, etc.

I've always prided myself on being a generalist, but I feel a real tug to choose a specific direction and go at it hard for the next year or so. The problem is that, as I see it, there seems to be no real proven marketability for the direction I most enjoy.

I know what I'm not:
- I'm not a "shoot for hire" event photographer
- I don't do weddings
- I only do portraits for friends/relatives, and those are few and far between
- I'll shoot on assignment, but not for the "shoot and burn" style of editorial work prominent in photojournalism circles (i.e. for a magazine with a five hour deadline to clean, tag, and dump)

I also know what I love:
- Quality over quantity
- Setting out for an event / destination of my choosing to capture images others might not see in the same setting
- Time to edit with an artist's eye, applying a look befitting the setting
- Looking back at the last 10-ish years and thinking, "Wow. I captured all of that, and I'm proud of the images regardless of whether or not Getty or SI wants them."

And, I know my favorite subjects:
- Pro and college sports
- People at the top of their game (Blue Angels, musicians, etc.)
- I'm pretty good at getting access for events because of a former career and especially enjoy showing fans what the 'behind the scenes' world looks like