Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2011, 08:01 PM   #1
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Did a search didn't find anything

Nine years ago I was a money making pro photographer. I would like to get back to that, as I need extra money. I have no idea what the going hourly rate is now. Then I charged $70 an hour. I shot mostly families and youth groups, i.e., hockey, cheerleaders, etc, but I also shot graduating seniors, and graduated college students and little children.

I did a birthday shoot two weeks ago for a family member, now i remember why I liked shooting children, I had so much fun!! I'd like to do this again. That shoot was a freebie, and I charged no monies.

Can you help without giving the drawbacks cause I already know those.

08-11-2011, 06:17 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Going hourly rate varies by area as well as somewhat dependent on your cost to operate your business. In other words, what is that hour of time worth to you in combination with what can your area support?
08-11-2011, 07:14 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
Ok good enough answer but still not what I was looking for. My area has two towns close together, one butts against the other. Population for both in 2009 was 45,101. Per capita income for one, is 20, 636, and for the other 29,100. This is per household. Which seems to me isn't a lot of money compared to prices of other things right now.

Having stated the above, I do not want to talk myself out of the venture, but I guess I need to do more research.
08-11-2011, 07:44 PM   #4
Veteran Member

That's because there isn't a set answer. Our business isn't on a standard fee schedule like many other businesses are.