Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2011, 06:41 PM   #1

How Much Did You Spend (Invest) When Starting Up?

It's been a long road since I graduated from my photo school, stopped assisting, started working at a camera store. But now I'm finally in a spot where I really want to get back to focusing on weddings. I'm not quitting my day job, so I can keep paying my bills/rent etc from that. But I have gear I need, outside of just photo gear. A macbook, graphic design work, website stuff etc... I just want to know how much people started throwing down when they started their business? Lucky for me I don't have to bank a Nikon full frame system which I think is unnecessarily expensive for a starter, that saved me a ton of cash... But I've been accumulating a healthy bit of debt while putting myself in position to get through a wedding day, and really serve my clients as I think they should be. I'm not drowning in debt, but I am pretty much spending every dollar I make on my business.

Call me crazy, but I just need to check that that's what I should be doing right? It is true that a big investment in equipment and other things has to be made on the outset, and slowly over time you get into a position to turn a profit. You spend a little time in the red, but dig yourself out and start making cash...

...right?

Any starter tips would be appreciated.

09-14-2011, 01:46 PM   #2
Veteran Member

A new member says he's a wedding/portrait shooter in Calgary and lists his working gear:

2 K-7 bodies
DA* 16-50
DA* 50-135
2 AF540FGZ flashes and Cactus V4 triggers