Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2011, 11:44 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Help please. Advice needed on licensing/sale...

(If the info I need is already in some thread I can't seem to find, please point me to it...)
I am not a professional photographer, but I've been working as an enthusiast taking better pictures with my K-x. I am a teacher, and I've led some trips to Turkey, Greece, Israel, Jordan... and have taken pictures I want to be able to use in the classroom. (These are all Bible related sites.) My pics are good enough that I've been contacted by a Bible software company inquiring about licensing my pics, and I am really uncertain what this means or what I should be aware of.
Some things I know:
  • These are not intended to be used as high-res photos for prints. They are likely to be resized down to 1000px max wide/high. I.e., they are for viewing on screen and used in PowerPoints.
  • They are asking for a "one-time sale of rights." Before I ask them what this means, I wanted to have some background.
  • Can I appropriately ask that I maintain rights to use my own pictures? (Or when you sell your rights, they are really no longer yours?)
  • I am not primarily interested in the money here. (It's likely that a significant portion of compensation will be in credit with the company.) By having an arrangement for the pics, however, it increases my chances for obtaining a grant for the travel to go back and get more pics. So, what is reasonable compensation in a situation like this? (I don't know yet how many pics they want. I have 1000s, but I'm guessing they may be wanting 200-500 or so.)
Any and all help and suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks!

12-05-2011, 12:24 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
I do quite a lot of publishing as an academic. Text stuff.