Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-25-2012, 11:32 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Supporting a street youth in Peru who wants to be a photographer

Greetings to my fellow Pentaxians. I’d like to take this opportunity to tell you about a young man in Peru who, although living in poverty, has a dream to be a photographer. It’s possibly a crazy dream, but that makes me want to support it that much more.

If this is an inappropriate ask for this Forum, please accept my apologies in advance.

My name is Sean Kelly, and I work in the non-profit sector, in international development. My organization – Cuso, which has been around for 50 years – sends volunteers from Canada & the US to share skills with local organizations in the developing world. I work in communications, and had the opportunity to visit a youth employment centre we support in Peru.

One of the youth I profiled in a series of videos is a young lad named Oswaldo. You can see the short video here:
http://www.youtube.com/cusointernational#p/u/9/o4IlaiThk7E

He is a young father, and is working very hard to provide for his kids. He also has this dream of being a photographer. He is one of us; he is moved to take photos, to really see the world around him.

For a brief time, he had a used film camera that was donated to him. I had donated film and a lens and he used the rolls, but he can’t afford to get it developed.

I have learned that this old film camera is now broken and he can’t afford to get it fixed. I don’t think he should at this point.

So, here’s the point of this message. I’d like to raise funds/solicit donations to give Oswaldo a:

Digital camera
A lens or two
Portable hard drive
A bit of money to develop film

Oswaldo can visit the local youth employment centre to download photos to the portable harddrive. He has taken workshops in entrepreneurial skills, and wants to try to offer low-cost photography services to people in his community.