Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2012, 08:27 PM   #1

Love and hate? How do you feel about Flickr and other pro photographer sites?

Vent all you awesome pro-photographers!

What do you guys love and hate about Flickr and other sites for sharing your work? Love to hear any opinions or stories!

02-02-2012, 08:51 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I read you post on Photo . net. Are you having a problem with them? I am not a pro but I do have an account on flikr, tho I have not posted any photo's yet. It's a new account.
There seems to be a lot of people using them.
02-02-2012, 08:59 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I can't really call myself a pro, but Smugmug seems to do the trick for me and I have my web address there. While I have used it for sales, I typically don't as processing is done in the US, causing delays and duty charge issues. Because of that, I am looking around for another pro site.
02-02-2012, 09:08 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Flickr is a photosharing site. It's not setup for professional usage, and you can have your account suspended for using it for commercial purposes.

SmugMug and Zenfolio on the other hand are setup to be able to sell your work from your site.

02-02-2012, 09:12 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Dislike Flickr because it renamed my files, would not sort by file name per #165 in the FAQ (my file names start with the date so they are chronological) , and they would not refund my $25 after I informed them of the above, and abandoned the site after less than 8 hours of futzing around trying to manage it. I'm not a professional, so perhaps it will work for others. Many people use it though I do not know why.
02-02-2012, 09:15 PM   #6

Original Poster
I meant like the interface... as a photographer, I want to create something new for phorographers, by photographers to showcase our work/share/ whatever you like to do.