Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-22-2012, 06:40 PM   #31
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by steezylistic Quote
So of the current camers out right now, k30 or k-7?
K30. But there isn't any other 'current' camera. There's some plusses and some minuses vs. the K-5 but overall you're probably slightly better off with the K-30's AF. Either one is clearly a better choice than the K-7.

08-26-2012, 11:16 PM   #32
Veteran Member

I started shooting weddings commercially with the K-7 and K-5 and I found that they soon became the limiting factor in getting the shots that I wanted when I wanted them.

The best way I can put it is that Pentax cameras are photography enthusiast cameras. They're great machines that are clearly designed by people who take photos but they are not tools that you can depends on every day all day. I have since switched to Nikon for full-frame, autofocus, build quality, and general robustness.

I miss my Pentax's for the glass and for the way they handled but they are light-years away from performing on a similar level as Nikon professional bodies. This is simply irrefutable. My clients trust me to capture their important moments, and I cannot in good faith trust Pentax kit to be there for me 100%.

If wedding photography is something you plan to pursue full-time then you will inevitably switch; it's just a matter of when.
08-27-2012, 01:24 AM   #33
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by noahpurdy Quote
I started shooting weddings commercially with the K-7 and K-5 and I found that they soon became the limiting factor in getting the shots that I wanted when I wanted them.

The best way I can put it is that Pentax cameras are photography enthusiast cameras. They're great machines that are clearly designed by people who take photos but they are not tools that you can depends on every day all day. I have since switched to Nikon for full-frame, autofocus, build quality, and general robustness.