Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2012, 08:13 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
first professional complaint

2012 was my year, my year to "go pro" so to speak. I don't consider myself a full blow pro yet. But I'm taking jobs and I'm making money at this, so I guess by definition I am a professional. I've taken about 20 jobs in 2012, and so far have had no complaints, until today.

This summer I ran a facebook add to drum up business for my startup studio. I thankfully didn't get as much from this add as I did my Kijiji add. And these customers in question came from the facebook add. To make matters worse, one of them is a personal friend and the drummer in my band.

The Facebook add: (discounted special)
1 full hour photo session, either on location, or in my studio.
40 proof images on CD within one week from the shoot
Customer to select images for a 20 page photo book (17 images minimum, to a max of all 40 from the preview disk) all images for the photo book will be fully edited
customer can select additional prints from a discounted price list (eg 8x10 is $20 instead of my usual $60)
$250

The kijij add: (regular price)
1 hour full photo session, either on location or in my studio
40 proof images on CD, within one week from the shoot
Inlcudes two 8x10 prints unframed
customer can select additional prints or products from my price list
customer receive all edited photos with the final product on digital CD
$400

Holiday Special package:
1 hour session
20 low res preview photos
1 8x10 unframed print selected by customer
pack of 50 greeting cards using same image from 8x10
All within 1 week of the shoot
$200

So I've done about 16 shoots this past year from the kijiji add. Most of them over the summer, and I've done 2 Holiday specials as well, and 3 weddings. (1 as primary, 2 as secondary shooter). So with only one complaint I've done well I believe.

So what to do?

There are multiple issues: