Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-25-2013, 09:55 PM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Gallery has me depressed :(

Got an email inviting me to judge the photos in the gallery. Took a look at a few and... wow. I'm not qualified to be a judge. None of my photos even come close to these. I know I'm not a pro -- I just do this as a hobby.... but it's very disheartening to see such awesome work, which I'll never be able to even come close to

Sigh. At least if I can't have plenty of talent, I can have plenty of beer.

Charles.

01-25-2013, 10:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by ChopperCharles Quote
but it's very disheartening to see such awesome work, which I'll never be able to even come close to
Every single person who has an image in that gallery is just a normal person. With practice, dedication, and the wonderful thing that is called inspiration, you most certainly can create amazing images. Believe me, if I can create decent images, anybody can.
01-25-2013, 10:25 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Got an email inviting me to judge the photos in the gallery. Took a look at a few and... wow. I'm not qualified to be a judge.
+1. I am in same situation and I feel, like you, unsuited for judging such high quality works.

... but it's very disheartening to see such awesome work
But I disagree with you on that one. It shows us what we can aim to. Since I move tod dSLR, I saw a progressive improvement of my shots, with a higher keeper rate, an increasing number of really nice photographs (even if I am the only one you like these), and a better understanding of my lenses, their capabilities and my own capabilities and limitations. There is more to come I believe. It is a challenge and that's great....

My 5 cents.
01-25-2013, 10:45 PM   #4
Veteran Member