Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-28-2013, 07:56 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Photography and Grief...

What It Feels Like To Be Photographed In A Moment Of Grief : The Picture Show : NPR

This is an interesting article. As a photographer I know that moments like this should be captured but as a person I have a real problem with things like this sometimes. What do you think? I think the photographers at the very least should have introduced themselves et all. I would have. No doubt some people there would have still been upset at me being there, doing my job, but at least I'd have them understanding that they have my sympathies too....

01-28-2013, 08:34 PM   #2
Veteran Member

The fact that she is not in unfounded fury actually makes it sadder. She seems to understand the picture taking and she can even appreciate the aesthetics of the pic, the problem is that he felt like a safari animal out there during a moment of grief. I think she is pretty reasonable and the photographers could surely have spoken to her afterwards. Though from the photographers view reading people can be really hard and they may have thought that the less interaction the less harm done, proved to be wrong in this case.

It isn't black or white, it's right in the center of the histogram.
01-28-2013, 08:42 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteQuote:
What are your thoughts? Should photographers interact with their subjects in moments of grief, or is it more respectful to leave them alone?
It's such a difficult question. I personally think photographers should not spray and pray in moments like this - at the very least show a somber attitude (and use the silent function in your cam, or get a k-5). However, these photographers are paid to take pictures, and their bosses don't care about whether or not they offend people...

But I also wouldn't want to risk the ire of someone by stepping up to them and interrupting them directly....