Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-20-2013, 01:59 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
CA - couple of Qs

My background professionally is in physics, but I'm no optics expert.

But there seem to be two common misconceptions about chromatic aberration:

1) that CA can be reduced with a hood or by avoiding flare in general, and

2) that CA is easily corrected in software

In my view, #1 is false; flare is caused by light being scattered away from its intended path through the optics (which mostly ought to have ended up absorbed by black surfaces inside the lens or camera body) and has nothing to do with chromatic aberration, which is caused by the fact that each wavelength is refracted along a different path through the optics.

and #2 is false, because each colour channel has a certain spectral sensitivity- it is sensitive to a range of wavelengths. You can scale the images from the three channels to make them line up, but the different wavelengths that contribute to the intensity within each channel are going to blur the image in that channel at the edges in a way you can never undo. Roughly speaking, the spectral width of any channel is about half the spectral separation of red and blue - so for red/blue CA you can probably only ever remove about half of the blurring caused by red-blue CA. (Although potentially you could help undo the blurring in each channel using an unsharp mask with a radius that depends on distance from the image sensor. What software does this?)

I could be wrong?

02-20-2013, 02:21 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A lens hood improves overall IQ, which makes the CA less apparent, even if fringing and chromatic aberrations aren't removed. But the medium is also important, for example a lot of people say that fringing is more apparent on digital cameras than on film. So its hard to say CA is purely a lens property.